Crochet for a long train journey

Our local craft shop has started stocking some lovely Debbie Bliss yarn. and I was taken with the warm colouring of this Riva shade called ‘thistle’
Riva thistle
As you know I am trying to be good about buying yarn just now, but I felt I could justify this purchase as I have a long train journey to do, and a modest scarf seemed like a perfect project. I chose moss stitch for some nice texture (see below for instructions) https://iamsimplyhooked.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/moss-stitch-fingerless-gloves/ and a 10mm hook for drape, and I must say it is working out rather well:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
All of which leaves me with a small problem …….The scarf is nearly finished and the train journey isn’t until Friday!
What am I going to crochet on the train??

If you would like to make one too a 20 stitch scarf worked out as 20 cm wide, and 3 balls of yarn made it 130 cm long.

2 thoughts on “Crochet for a long train journey

  1. The Snail of Happiness

    Generally I knit socks on trains. They take such a long time in 4-ply that they are perfect and you need to carry a relatively small amount of yarn so you can take an extra ball for another pair if you finish one. I always use self-patterning yarn because it’s very sociable – people always want to come and ask about it!
    Not very helpful if you want to crochet, though… for that it would have to be granny squares as I can always find a use for them!

    Like

    Reply
    1. iamsimplyhooked Post author

      I would love to learn how to crochet socks! I have seen some nice patterns but never quite got round to doing some. What a good idea.
      I have met some lovely people through crocheting on trains, including two French air crew on a stop-over at Manchester who borrowed my blanket to learn some crochet.
      They did pretty well too.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment