Thumbs up

My daughter has asked me for some fingerless gloves long enough to wear with a 3/4 sleeved jacket. You might remember that I made her some gloves some time ago (see here), which met with her approval.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had some of the yarn left, so embarked on a pair of simple gloves in half trebles, crocheted from the fingers up so I could make them as long as she needed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have never used a pattern for making gloves so am not sure whether fingers up or wrist down is the normal way. I know the Snail of Happiness makes hers from the wrist down. Which do you do? Is there a reason for doing one rather than the other??

Made in New Lanark double knitting yarn (90% wool, 10% silk) in Damson on a 4.5mm hook.

4 thoughts on “Thumbs up

  1. Kiki's Craft Corner

    Most patterns seem to work from the wrist down, perhaps because it makes it easier to work the thumb, although you seem to have managed your thumbs very nicely the other way round, so I’d keep on doing it your own way!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

