Boho Spirit scarf.

I had some fun making this with just 100g of Cygnet Boho Spirit aran weight yarn:

dav

The colour is ‘folk’ (6464) and it’s a lovely autumnal mix of golds, greens and reds,. I made it on a 6mm hook in (UK) treble crochet. I divided the ball into halves by weight, then did some winding on to make sure that both halves started at the same point of the colour progression. I made one triangle, starting with 3 trebles and increasing at the start and end of alternate rows (e.g. end of row 1, start of row 2) so there was a straight edge, and an increasing edge. I ran out of yarn when the triangle was 46 stitches wide. I made the second triangle the same way, keeping the ‘wound on’ yarn to fill in at the wide edge.

To finish off I crocheted the two halves together and added a border in Scheepjes merino soft ‘Klee’ (622) on a 5mm hook. The border is the simple picot edging from from ‘Around The Corner Crochet Borders’ by Edie Eckman. The pattern is a (UK) 1dc, ch3, 1dc in the same stitch, miss a stitch repeat, and is very effective for very little faff! The border definitely helps the whole piece lie flat, and I would certainly use it again.

So, who has 100g of variegated yarn to spare?

Leave a comment