Beginners bobble hat

I have given quite a lot of thought recently to beginner-friendly projects, and this is one of my favourites:

It’s a bobble hat made in James C Brett Masquerade chunky (shade MQ01) on a 7mm hook. The hat is made in a rectangle of 40 stitches wide. All the stitches are back loop only, with the main 30 stitches of the hat made in (UK) half trebles, and the last 10 stitches in (UK) double crochet. This helps to pull the crown of the hat in near the bobble. The whole hat is 40 rows long, and is joined by a crochet slip-stitch seam.

This hat used 80g of yarn, and unfortunately the remaining 20g wasn’t enough for a hand-made bobble so I used an 11cm Trimits faux fur pom pom for this one. I have since made some of my own bobbles and find a 7cm bobble maker is perfect for the job.

Leave a comment